Appointments to the Panel of Chairmen


9 Jan 2013

The President of the Competition Appeal Tribunal is pleased to announce that the Lord Chancellor has appointed 4 new members to the panel of chairmen of the Competition Appeal Tribunal.

The new members are:

Heriot Currie QC (Scotland)
Peter Freeman CBE, QC (Hon)
Andrew Lenon QC
Hodge Malek QC



1.  About the new members:


Heriot Currie QC (Scotland) practises in both Scotland and England.  He commenced practice at the Scottish Bar in 1979, was Standing Junior in Scotland to the Department of Trade and Industry between 1987 and 1992 and was called to the English Bar (Gray's Inn) in 1991. In 1992 he was appointed Queen's Counsel in Scotland.  In 2005, he also commenced practice at the English Bar when he became a member of Monckton Chambers.  His practice has covered a wide range of commercial cases, including, competition law, intellectual property, judicial review, procurement, human rights and EU law, professional negligence, commercial fraud, building and engineering contracts, arbitrations and public inquiries.


Peter Freeman CBE, QC (Hon) is a solicitor who has held senior posts in public service after a long career in professional practice.  He is a Member of the Lloyd’s Enforcement Appeal Tribunal Panel and, prior to his appointment as Chairman, was an Ordinary Member of the Competition Appeal Tribunal. From 2005-2011 he was Chairman of the UK Competition Commission, and for two years prior to that he was a Deputy Chairman. His professional career comprised 30 years in the law firm Simmons & Simmons, 25 of them as a partner, managing the Commercial Department and heading the EC and Competition Law practice group. He is currently a senior consultant to the law firm Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton, a position he will relinquish following his appointment as Chairman of the Competition Appeal Tribunal.  He was for many years Chairman of the Regulatory Policy Institute, Oxford, and has written and spoken widely on competition and regulatory law. He is a member of the advisory boards of the ESRC Research Centre for Competition Policy at the University of East Anglia and the International Competition Forum, University of St Gallen, the Scientific Board of Concurrencia e Regulacao, Lisbon and the Council of the University of Bath.


Andrew Lenon QC was called to the Bar in 1982 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2006.  A member of One Essex Court chambers, his practice covers the full range of company and commercial litigation, arbitration and advisory work.  He has been involved in many leading cases involving banking and financial services, company and insolvency matters and the insurance, reinsurance and energy industries.  He sits as a Deputy District Judge and as a Chairman of the Bar Disciplinary Tribunals.


Hodge Malek QC was called to the Bar in 1983 and appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1999.  He is a member of Thirty Nine Essex Street chambers and his practice has covered many areas of commercial law and dispute resolution; including, banking and financial services, fraud, professional disciplinary cases, energy, insurance and reinsurance and procurement.  He is the general editor of the leading book on the law of evidence, Phipson on Evidence (17th edition. 2010) and the joint author of Disclosure (4th edition, 2012).  He is also a contributor to Mithani, Directors Disqualification (Human Rights chapters) and various volumes of Atkins Court Forms (Human Rights, Disclosure and Information Requests, and Administrative Court).He was a member of the Commercial Court working party chaired by Lord Justice Cresswell on Electronic Disclosure and has been a Chairman of the Bar Disciplinary Tribunals.  He sits as a Recorder in both civil and criminal cases, is a member of the Inns of Court Conduct Committee and a Bencher of Gray’s Inn.


2.  Appointments to the panel of chairmen are made by the Lord Chancellor pursuant to section 12 of the Enterprise Act 2002 upon the recommendation of the Judicial Appointments Commission and following an open competition.  The appointments are part-time and the current rate of remuneration is £600 per day.


3.  The other current members of the panel of chairmen include judges of the Chancery Division of the High Court, Lord Carlile CBE, QC, Vivien Rose and Marcus Smith QC.